Unofficial ASP 2016 Parasite Ecology Cartoon Contest

For the past few years, I’ve been conducting an unofficial parasite ecology cartoon contest at the annual ESA meeting – mostly for my own enjoyment, but also so that I can brag up peoples’ talks and parasite cartoons after the conference. This year, I’m also announcing an Unofficial ASP 2016 Parasite Ecology Cartoon Contest!  If you want to play – and I hope you will – all you need to do is put a cartoon in your ASP talk. You have a few weeks to find/create a good one!

Finer details:

You do not need to make your own cartoon. If you use a cartoon created by someone else, it’ll count as long as you properly attribute credit to the artist.

The cartoons don’t need to be funny! I’m just looking for cartoons that help communicate your work to the audience. That being said, anything punny is worth mega bonus points.

It’s logistically impossible for me to see every ASP talk. If you know you’re going to have some rocking cartoons and you want in on this highly prestigious contest, let me know in the comments or via email and I’ll make a special effort to come to your talk.

…my favorite cartoonist will be awarded an almost entirely worthless prize (i.e., some publicity for your cool science and bragging rights for a year).

Since I’m the only judge, my talk won’t be in the running for the contest. But my talk will have cartoons (and some terrible puns, sorry), so you’ll have to see if you can spot it.

Good luck!!

6 thoughts on “Unofficial ASP 2016 Parasite Ecology Cartoon Contest

  1. Too bad I won’t be attending the ASP meeting, otherwise I’ll try to shoehorn a Parasite Monster Girl into my talk just to go into running for this contest.

      • Well I noticed in the rules:

        “You do not need to make your own cartoon. If you use a cartoon created by someone else, it’ll count as long as you properly attribute credit to the artist.”

        Now all you need to do is to convince someone who *will* be attending to use one of my Parasite Monster Girls (and properly credit me) in one of their talks… ;-]

  2. Pingback: Winner of the Unofficial ASP 2016 Cartoon Contest | Parasite Ecology

Leave a Reply

